Warning: Illegal string offset 'html' in /home/nissansi/public_html/forums/cache/skin_cache/cacheid_1/skin_topic.php on line 907
R32 rb25 conversion - Hardtuned.net

Jump to content


R32 rb25 conversion 

15 replies to this topic

#1 braden r32

  • Joined:01-May 11
  • Location:Australia ACT
  • Car:r32 gts

Posted 01 May 2011 - 03:09 PM

planning on putting a rb25det into my r32gts.
Wondering if its just a clean swap of motor n computer or if i need to do a few mods.
any tips will be welcome thanks

#2 hinto2

  • Joined:04-December 07
  • Location:Australia SA

Posted 01 May 2011 - 03:25 PM

wiring loom needs to be modded slightly to suit r32 body harness. if your going to use rb25 gearbox, tailshaft will need to have the yoke changed. plus reverse lights and speedo sorted out.

i used rb30 engine mounts and bolted straight in.

#3 braden r32

  • Joined:01-May 11
  • Location:Australia ACT
  • Car:r32 gts

Posted 01 May 2011 - 04:50 PM

thanks mate

#4 beemae30

  • Joined:18-June 11
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:92 R32 gtst

Posted 18 June 2011 - 09:25 PM

Or you can remove all the old sensors/ Fit them to rb25. Run a rb20 ecu with nistune with a vct controller. You can also use the 20 box as long as your gentle that way you dont need to get a tailshaft made up.

#5 SHREDDA_A31

  • Joined:09-August 11
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:Cefiro

Posted 23 December 2011 - 09:51 AM

lmfao 20 box for what a week ??

#6 Lucas.

  • Joined:25-November 08
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:Toyota 4 runner

Posted 23 December 2011 - 09:56 AM

View PostSHREDDA_A31, on 23 December 2011 - 09:51 AM, said:

lmfao 20 box for what a week ??
Why the hate.

I've had a 20 box behind my 25 for 4 track days, still going strong. Maybe you can't dump third but they're still a strong box

#7 R32GTRS

  • Joined:24-August 09
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:RB25 R32gtst

Posted 23 December 2011 - 11:46 AM

depends what the 25det is making, If you're pushing decent power I wouldnt count on it lasting long, it will get you by though depends how you drive I suppose.

#8 kiwi laurel

  • Joined:01-December 11
  • Location:Australia VIC
  • Car:Nissan Laurel

Posted 28 January 2012 - 08:55 AM

rb30det with 270rwkw and 990nm of torque and a excedy 3 puk 1200lb clutch kit and 20det gearbox lasted 3 track days, a skid comp, and a day at the drag strip, and since then its done another track day behind a 26 with 220rwkw and its still going strong now lol, just have to be gentle with the limit drops.

as for 25 into r32, its very simple, use your old engine mounts from the 20, use the alternator and starter motor from the 20 and that peice of loom, and then you modify the 25 engine loom to suit the body loom, 4 wires to get the motor running, constant power, ignition power, fuel pump and injector power, then you have rev counter and water temp and all done

#9 BOZZY

  • Joined:22-May 10
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:r32 4 door

Posted 12 June 2012 - 05:05 PM

potentially stupid question but seems fitting here. does the r33 gearbox x member work on a 32? 32 x member is to far forward and only 2 holes line up.

#10 Lucas.

  • Joined:25-November 08
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:Toyota 4 runner

Posted 12 June 2012 - 08:12 PM

View PostBOZZY, on 12 June 2012 - 05:05 PM, said:

potentially stupid question but seems fitting here. does the r33 gearbox x member work on a 32? 32 x member is to far forward and only 2 holes line up.


Heaps of people use just the two bolts fine

#11 kriss

  • Joined:25-August 08
  • Location:Australia VIC
  • Car:A31 - CHEV

Posted 12 June 2012 - 08:19 PM

I only use 2 holes, no problems

#12 BOZZY

  • Joined:22-May 10
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:r32 4 door

Posted 12 June 2012 - 08:20 PM

View PostLucas., on 12 June 2012 - 08:12 PM, said:

View PostBOZZY, on 12 June 2012 - 05:05 PM, said:

potentially stupid question but seems fitting here. does the r33 gearbox x member work on a 32? 32 x member is to far forward and only 2 holes line up.


Heaps of people use just the two bolts fine

i need to get mine through blue slip and i dont think the 2 bolt setup will pass.

#13 R32GTRS

  • Joined:24-August 09
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:RB25 R32gtst

Posted 13 June 2012 - 11:57 AM

get someone to weld up a new mount? not a hard job shouldnt cost too much

#14 BOZZY

  • Joined:22-May 10
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:r32 4 door

Posted 13 June 2012 - 04:05 PM

View PostR32GTRS, on 13 June 2012 - 11:57 AM, said:

get someone to weld up a new mount? not a hard job shouldnt cost too much

i actually fabbed up a mount for the setup when it was in the track car but am not sure if it will pass blue slip or not. was chasing a backup plan as much as anything.

#15 ieat8s

  • Joined:18-August 14
  • Location:Australia VIC
  • Car:R32 Skyline Coupe

Posted 29 August 2014 - 11:25 AM

Does anyone know if the r32 engine mounts and brackets will work on the rb25? Ive been told they sit a bit lower for better bonnet clearance.

#16 blingcommander

  • Joined:05-October 06
  • Location:Japan
  • Car:Scooty-Puff Jr.

Posted 29 August 2014 - 12:27 PM

The engines are the same dimensions





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Common Links

  • About Us
  • Privacy Policy
  • User Agreement
  • Help & Support Forums
  • Advertise
  •  

    By your continued use of this site, you agree to follow all Rules & Guidelines and abide by the User Agreement outlined in our Terms & Conditions.

    Hardtuned Network is hosted by Sanity Technology

    Design, Site Management & Hotness provided by Loz.

    Big thanks to all our members and volunteers for making this network what it is today!